top of page

PEERLESS CLEVEDON

'Peerless Clevedon'. Do you see what I've done there? It's a rather clever pun, in my

humble opinion at least?

The point of the fairly awful pun is that my latest set of photos feature shots that were taken in and around Clevedon, but do not feature our iconic old Victorian pier. Not that I've anything against the pier. Far from it, especially since the tasteful recent revamp. In fact I've got loads of photos taken over the years, some of which I'll probably catch you unawares with at a later date.

I wanted to feature some of the other features of this marvellous town, which has

been my home for the last thirty-odd years. Sometimes I think the locals are a bit

quick to run the town down, but I love the place; and I'll recommend to you a few of

my favourite reasons for living here.

Marine Lake sunset

The beach and promenade are increasingly a great place to visit. The recent Marine

Lake upgrade is a triumph. It's heartwarming, on a warm summer evening, to see

families using the lake for swimming and picnicking. The pier upgrade and the new

flats have been tastefully done; and there are plenty of welcoming cafes, bars and

gift shops to visit.

St Andrew's Church

There are some picturesque walks starting from the seafront. Either northwards to

Ladye Bay, and onwards to Portishead if you like. Or southwards along Poets Walk to Clevedon Pill and the sea wall. Both walks are fairly easy going, and great for

photography fans.

There are other great walks in the town. Two of my favourites are Fir Woods and

Court Woods in East Clevedon.

Fir Woods

The Triangle area of the town could definitely do with a bit of TLC, and I commend

the efforts of the 'Clevedon Pride' to try to keep the area looking neat and tidy. There are, nonetheless, some flourishing businesses in the area. The cafes always seem to do well, and the 'Theatre Shop' is an imaginative and welcome addition to the precinct.

The Triangle area also boasts more curry houses per square mile than New Delhi.**

All have friendly and welcoming staff, and are an asset to the area.

(**I haven't checked this out, but it must be true??).

The Curzon Cinema and Arts centre is an amazing facility, and has come on leaps

and bounds recently, with the introduction of live music and comedy shows, and the

live screening of West End events. A fantastic facility for a town of this size.

The 'Waverley' heads away from Clevedon

Clevedon also boasts several welcoming sports clubs. I am most familiar with the Rugby Club and the Cricket Club, both of which are successful and welcoming. There are also two football clubs and two bowls clubs, which I'm less familiar with, but I'm sure are just as friendly.

These are just a few highlights that make Clevedon a great place to live or to visit.

Sorry if all this has been a bit parochial for non-Clevedon dwellers, but if you've never been here, choose a sunny day to come, and you won't regret it.

Walking in Fir Woods

Hope you like the photos. Enjoy the Bank Holiday.

Trevor

bottom of page